Don’t Forget to Delete ‘Connect to Outlook’ Items

If you use Connect to Outlook to manage lists in SharePoint, like Team Discussions – don’t forget to communicate to your users if you delete that list in SharePoint.

When you delete these items, they do not automatically delete from Outlook.  So people could be replying to a thread later on, or adding items, not realising that the whole list has been deleted.

But if the item is still in the Recycle Bin and you restore it, the replies posted from Outlook while the list was deleted will syndicate to SharePoint when you refresh the page.

Communicate all changes.

(This is true for both SharePoint 2007 and 2010, the screen dumps above are from SharePoint 2010 though).

Thanks to Darralyn in Durban for asking the obvious question! 🙂

About Veronique Palmer

Empowering people one at a time.
This entry was posted in SharePoint 2010, Tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s