The three default user groups created with each team site created with unique permissions are Site Members, Site Owners, Site Visitors. (This is also valid for SharePoint 2007, the ribbon and site actions options are applicable to SharePoint 2010 though).
- Members have rights to edit, upload and delete content.
- Owners have full rights to change the look and feel, add and remove users, create or delete content.
- Visitors have rights to open and read content.
You don’t need to add people to all three groups. If they are Owners, they will already be able to edit and view content. If they are Members, they will already be able to view content.
But what can the people in these groups see? The actions they have no rights to are greyed out on the ribbons. The Site Actions menu is security trimmed so that they will only see actions they do have rights to.
Library tab in the Ribbon
Library tab in the ribbon
Library tab on the ribbon